top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureCecilia Porter

WHY?

Updated: Mar 28, 2023


The WHY questions starts with us when we are children. "Why do I have to go to bed?" "Why do I have to eat my vegetables?" "Why do I have to go to school?" Even as adults, we keep asking the question, "why?" And we will continue to ask the question, "why" throughout our entire life time. "Why did God take him or her so young?" "Why the trials and tribulations of life?" "Why does this have to be my burden to bear?" "Why?" "Why?"


Why do we ask, why? Because we need to know the answer, and that is why. We ask why for a deeper understanding. If you don't have the answer for the why, just ask the question, why not? That always works. But as humans, we are curious about life. Because life's problems and situations are truly puzzling. Our brain is always in pursuit of knowledge. So why do we ask the question, why? We ask the question to acquire knowledge, to obtain a better understanding, and to eliminate the confusion.


Sometimes God never answers the "why" questions. Instead God may show us that knowing the "Who" is far more important than knowing the "why." When you realize the "Who," any "why" will be just fine. God is the Who to the why. God often tells us, the reason why, is because He says so.


Is it wrong to question God and ask Him why? Well, Moses asked God why. Moses said, "Why pick me, to give me the burden of a people like this? Are they my children? Am I their father? Is that why you have given me the job of nursing them along like babies until we get to the land you promised their ancestors?" (Numbers 11:11-12).


Job asked God why. He wanted to know, "What is mere man that you should spend your time persecuting him? Must you be his inquisitor every morning, and test him every moment of the day? Why won't you let me alone - even long enough to spit? Has my sin harmed you, O God, Watcher of mankind? Why have you made me your target, and made my life so heavy a burden to me?" (Job 7:17-20).


David asked God why. "Lord, why are you standing aloof and far away? Why do you hide when I need you the most?" (Psalm 10:1). "How long will you forget me, Lord? Forever? How long will you look the other way when I am in need? How long must I be hiding daily anguish in my heart? How long shall my enemy have the upper hand?" (Psalm 13:1-2).


Jesus asked God why, when He was on the cross. He shouted, "Eli, Eli, Lama sabachthani?" which means, "My God, My God, why have you forsaken me?" (Matthew 27:46).


We as Christians do not live a troubled free life. We often wonder why did God bring this to me? Why me? We may not understand our why's while we are in the valley, nor may we ever get an answer during our lifetime. If God decides to answer our why, we may not get the answer we desire. But whether God answers us or not, He comforts us in those dark troublesome times.


In John 9:2-3, Jesus had left the Temple and He saw a blind man whose been blind since his birth. His disciples asked him, "Why was this man born blind? Was it a result of his own sin or those of his parents?" Jesus answered, "Neither. But to demonstrate the power of God." We may never know the reason for the why, but know this, God's glory will always be displayed in our life as He molds us for His purpose.


It may not be about the "why," but maybe about the "how." How God is working out everything in our lives for His purpose and for His glory? Because we are unable to see from God's perspective. So you don't understand why your marriage didn't work. Why you are suffering from an illness. Why your love one committed suicide. Why your spouse or child is on drugs. Why you can't get a job or keep one. Why the loneliness? Why the misery? Why the unhappiness? Why the brokenness? The proverbial list of why questions are endless.


The why question can rock your faith. God has a purpose in putting us through that painful situation. Scripture tells us, "For everything comes from God alone. Everything lives by his power, and everything is for his glory" (Romans 11:36).


It's okay to ask God the "why" questions. It's God's prerogative if He chooses to answer any of them. God has never answered all of my why questions. I sometimes understand how He is working it out for me, and then there are times when nothing makes sense. As I have matured in Christ, I have learned to ask God the "what" question." "What" do you want me to learn from this experience? Then I rest in Him, because I trust Him. No matter how bleak the situation may look. No matter how hard it may appear.


The Lord is telling me to trust and follow Him. He is telling me to follow the path that He has given me. His plan is perfect for me. It may not look like it when you are in the valley. I understand that the difficulties we experience in this life, means that God is accomplishing His will in our lives. They shape us so that we may reflect the character of Christ. As we ponder the "why" question, God is simply asking, "why not you?" And He is also saying to us, "because I said so."



5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

©2020 by Cecilia's Inspiration Corner. Proudly created with Wix.com

  • facebook
  • twitter
  • linkedin
bottom of page