top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureCecilia Porter

A RED SEA EXPERIENCE

Updated: Mar 21, 2023


Our life's journey comes with a lot of hard situations. Sometimes we are faced with situations that drains our peace and joy. It could be a challenging relationship, a financial crisis, health issues, or a host of other things. Whatever it is, we somehow just can't see our way out of the situation. Many situations and challenges are put before us as a "test of faith." I am a person of faith, and I believe that God can make a way out of no way. The same God we read about in the Bible is the same God that we serve today.


Take the story of Moses when him and Aaron went to Egypt to confront Pharaoh to let the children of Israel go. So God had to teach Pharaoh a lesson. Ten plagues were brought down on Egypt and Pharaoh finally released the Israelites. When they left Egypt, God led them along a route through the Red Sea wilderness. They camped in Etham, at the edge of the wilderness. Pharaoh and his army pursued the people of Israel. The Israelites were trapped in front of the Red Sea with no way out. But Moses told them to not be afraid, just stand still and watch the wonderful way the Lord would rescue them that day. He wanted them to know that the Lord will fight for them and they wouldn't have to lift a single finger. God purposefully led them to that exact spot, with no options of escape of their own, because He wanted them to see HIS power and He wanted all Egypt to know that He was Jehovah. God told Moses to stretch out his rod over the sea. Moses did what the Lord commanded, and the Lord opened up a path through the sea and the water was divided. The Lord caused a strong east wind to blow, drying the sea bottom and the people crossed over on totally dry ground. Isn't God amazing! When all the Israelites were on the other side, God told Moses to stretch out his hand again over the sea, so that the waters would come back over the Egyptians. Moses did and the Egyptians drowned in the sea.


No one wants to be in a "Red Sea" situation. But sometimes we find ourselves in situations where we have to trust God to make a way out of no way. We have to wait and trust Him to deliver us in difficult and troubling times. I have had some experiences where I had no way out, but God made a way out of no way for me. He opened a path for me that I couldn't have possibly opened for myself. I have had some mind-blowing experiences, and each time my faith was put to the test, and out of each of those experiences, my faith was restored and strengthened. Nothing is impossible for God, and God will always provide a way, even when it seems impossible.


For the last few years, I have found myself feeling very defeated. Sometimes I am depressed, downright discouraged, and overwhelmed. How so, do you ask? Well, I have been in a situation that I can't do nothing about. I am waiting on God to part the sea for me, so that I can walk through on dry ground, to get to the other side. I need God to tell me which direction to take; so I stand, watch, and wait. It seems that my enemies are all around me, and it seems that they are closing in on me, but I have to hold on to my faith and trust the will that God has for my life. While I am watching and waiting, I have learned something very valuable. I just need to be still and watch God get His glory. This battle isn't mine, it's the Lord's, because I know that only God can delivered me from this situation. He actually brought this situation to my front door. I am at a place where I can't see any way out, not through my own power, anyway. I know that God is with me and that He is leading me and guiding me. I need to remember that God is always there for me.


Sometimes, He leads you to just be still. Simply wait, but we look at waiting as being stuck. We wait, but we don't do it gracefully. We want God to deliver us now, the very minute we are faced with our "Red Sea Experience." We don't want to face those raging seas in our lives. We want the water to part immediately so we can walk through on dry ground, but we can't do this until we stand still. We need to stand still and remember that God led you to this place for a reason. If we stand still we will see the salvation of the Lord. Scripture reminds us to, "Trust in the Lord with all your heart; do not depend on your own understanding. Seek his will in all you do, and he will show you which path to take" (Proverbs 3:5-6).


Standing still is so very hard to do. Waiting on God to clear the pathway for us isn't easy. How do I know if God is waiting on me to do something first or am I waiting on Him? What a test of faith! So many questions floods your mind. We question what is taking God so long to open up the pathway. We began to question God. Is God really moving on our behalf? We are constantly looking for some signs from God. God is always leading us, some ways are subtle and some are obvious.


If you are having a "Red Sea Experience" don't panic. God is always with you. He promised that He would never leave you nor forsake you. Remind Him of His promises to you. No matter what situation you may be in, God is with you. He is leading you. It may seem as though that nothing is happening at all, but at God's appointed time, He will reveal His will to you. God wants to lead you in a divine direction that will give you an abundant life, but it takes trusting Him with all of your heart. The Lord says, "I will guide you along the best pathway for your life. I will advise you and watch over you" (Psalm 32:8).



3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

©2020 by Cecilia's Inspiration Corner. Proudly created with Wix.com

  • facebook
  • twitter
  • linkedin
bottom of page