top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureCecilia Porter

BROKEN

Updated: Feb 18, 2021



Broken - violently separated into parts: shattered. Have you ever felt like you were broken? I have never known what it felt like being broken until I lost my husband. It was more that a heartbreak. Heartbreaks are an outright emotional and enormous pain, but to feel like you are broken is worse. I was broken! My heart was broken. I felt as though my heart was ripped from my body and chopped into a million pieces, then set on fire and scattered to the ends of the earth.

Being broken for me, meant losing my lust for life and the will to live. My get-up and go had packed its bags and got up and left. I was alive, but it was difficult to live. I was just existing. I was marked present in the world, but was not actually living presently in the world. There was times when I mentally checked-out.

Being broken meant to me felt like I could never be myself again. My spirit was crushed and I had no willpower. I was just functioning, but not properly. I was looking at my life, no, thinking, “do I have a life," because he was part of my life, all of my adult life. I couldn’t focus on anything.

Broken, brokenness can mean a lot of things. It may imply messiness and imperfection. It may mean heartbreak. It could be a physical weakness.

When I wanted my life to be over because of my brokenness, God showed me that I only needed to give my hurt and brokenness to Him. He knew what to do with it.

God can restore what is broken and turn it into something amazing all you need is faith” Joel 2:25.

There is brokenness through many circumstances. The Bible gives us so many stories about brokenness. God wants us to know that we are not alone and He can repair any and all brokenness. Broken, brokenness, broken promises, broken dreams, broken hearts, broken hearted equals pain, pain, and more pain.

We all have had a brokenness experience. God delights in making beauty out of brokenness. We just need to allow Him to do so. We can’t and do not choose our brokenness, but we can choose whether or not we wish to remain broken. I chose not to remain broken.

Only Jesus can heal the brokenness, and when He finish putting His repair job on us and in us, what beauty will be brought forth, out of brokenness.

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page