top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureCecilia Porter

FOR CHRIST'S SAKE


I was reading an Inspiration Book today and the topic was about 2 Corinthians 12:10, "Therefore I take pleasure in infirmities, in reproaches, in necessities, in persecutions, in distresses for Christ's sake: for when I am weak, then am I strong."


I started thinking, what if I brought this verse to present day meaning, how would it read? It would read like this:


Therefore, I take pleasure in my physical or mental weakness (infirmities); being disapproved of, with disappointments, contempt, mockery, and rejection (reproach); being without basic food, clothing, shelter, and the lack of the physical basics of life (necessities); enduring hostility and ill-treatment, especially because of my race or political or religious belief (persecutions); to endure anxiety, sorrow, and pain that others cause me that induces distressing situations, both spiritually and physically (distresses); for Christ's sake; for when I am without strength, I am AWESOME AND DYNAMITE!


When you can say this, then you have the secret of divine all-sufficiency. You have truly died to self. You no longer seek sympathy because of hard times and bad situations. But, I am not there yet and I am not looking for sympathy. I love God with all of my heart and from the bottom of my soul. I desire for my walk to be pleasing in His sight.


You see no one has seen the many tears I've cried. No one knows about the many insults or false persecutions. No one knows, the troubles I have faced. No one, but Jesus! I am not delighted when I am faced with difficulties and distresses and no one is happy about being persecuted or ridiculed. When someone or something is being a "thorn" to me, I don't care how strong I think I am, I become mentally and emotionally wounded. But praise God, mental and emotional wounds for me, are easily healed, but I couldn't do it without Jesus.


Paul using an operative phrase - FOR CHIRST'S SAKE. As Christians, it is for Christ's sake that we should be content to be insulted and to suffer persecutions and it is by Christ's grace that we should be content in the middle of our difficulties and distresses.


It is for Christ's sake that we should be content through our disappointments and rejections. It is for Christ's sake that we should be glad in our ill-treatments and we should rejoice in our distresses. It is for the sake of Christ, our Lord and Savior that we can or should be content with our weaknesses, insults, and persecutions, for when I am weak, then I am strong.


Paul found contentment in so many difficult and complexed situations and it was for Christ's sake that Paul was able to pen these uplifting and encouraging, words, "when I am weak, then I am strong."


Are we to follow in his footsteps? YES! This is letting go of the flesh, and taking on Jesus. This is a discovery of a godly contentment, when we are weak and foolish in the eyes of man, we know that our strength is found in God, for in Christ we are more than conquerors.


There is great significance of this little phrase: FOR CHRIST'S SAKE. We have been saved by grace through faith in Jesus, and for Christ's sake and His glory, we should try to graciously share the glorious gospel of Jesus Christ. Yes, for Christ's sake, people will insult you and cause you distresses and difficulties.


For Christ's sake we should be content to suffer, knowing that He will give us the strength to endure everything that we suffer for His sake.


For Christ's sake! The spiritual hymns, "Must Jesus Bear the Cross Alone," expresses my sentiments exactly: "Must Jesus bear this cross alone and all this world go free? No, there's the cross for everyone and there a cross for me." We must bear our cross, for Christ's sake.

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

コメント


bottom of page