top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureCecilia Porter

GOD'S SOVEREIGNTY

Updated: Apr 15, 2023


God is sovereign. What does this mean? God is in control! He is the Ultimate source of all power, authority, and everything that exist. He created everything that exist. To be sovereign means to have ultimate or absolute power.


God is the King of kings, Lord of lords, and the God of gods. He is without equal and limitation. He is infinite. He had no beginning and He has no ending. He is the Ruler of everything. It is recorded in the Bible, "Who is the image of the invisible God, the firstborn of every creature. For by him were all things created, that are in heaven, and that are in earth, visible and invisible, whether they be thrones, or dominions, or principalities, or powers: all things were created by him, and for him. And he is before all things, and by him all things consist" (Colossians 1:15-17).


God's sovereignty is the result of Him being Omniscient. God is all knowing. Hebrews 4:13 says, "He knows about everyone, everywhere. Everything about us is bare and wide open to the all-seeing eyes of our living God; nothing can be hidden from him to whom we must explain all that we have done.


God is Omnipotent. God is all powerful. Job 37:27 says, "The Almighty is beyond our reach and exalted in power; in his justice and great righteousness, he does not oppress." He is omnipotent in creation: "This is what the LORD says - your Redeemer, who formed you in the womb: I am the LORD, the Maker of all things, who stretches out the heavens, who spreads out the earth by myself" (Isaiah 44:24). He is omnipotent in understanding: "I made known the end from the beginning, from ancient times, what is still to come. I say, 'My purpose will stand, and I will do all that I please.' From the east I summon a bird of prey; from a far-off land, a man to fulfill my purpose. What I have said, that I will bring about; what I have planned, that I will do" (Isaiah 46:10-11).


God is Omnipresent. God is present everywhere at all times with no exceptions. There is no place you can hide from God, and no where that you can be that God is not there. "Can a man hide himself in secret places so that I cannot see him? declares the Lord. Do I not fill heaven and earth? declares the Lord?" (Jeremiah 23:24). There is no place you can be that God is not also there, and aware of. God fills both heaven and earth, so there is nowhere that humans can go that God is not already there, before they get there. David says, "Where shall I go from your Spirit? Or where shall I flee from your presence? If I ascend to heaven, you are there! If I make my bed in Sheol, you are there! If I take the wings of the morning and dwell in the uttermost parts of the sea, even there your hand shall lead me, and your right hand shall hold me" (Psalm 139:7-10)


The Bible describes God as all-powerful, all-knowing, outside of time, and responsible for the creation of everything. Nothing in this universe can happen without God's permission. God knows what will happen today, tomorrow, and 100 years from now, and He has a plan for each and everyday. He is aware of every second, minute, and hour. He knows the details of our days. God knows our thoughts. God knows the paths of our lives and every direction of our lives. God knows the words we will say before the thoughts are formed in our mind. God is always with us, regardless of what or how we feel. He is there in our sorrow, disappointment, trouble, and pain. He is there in our joy and laughter too. He is always there when no one else is.


God's sovereignty means that anything that comes into your life, God either decreed it or allowed it. Whatever God has allowed to enter your life, you must be willing to trust Him, because He can work it out for your good. "In him we have obtained an inheritance, having been predestined according to the purpose of him who works all things according to the counsel of his will" (Ephesians 1:11). This means, every single event that occurs in your life and in this world, is predestined by God. In regards to tragedies and evil, God cannot be blamed. He either allows it for His purpose, or He overcomes it for His purpose.

6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

©2020 by Cecilia's Inspiration Corner. Proudly created with Wix.com

  • facebook
  • twitter
  • linkedin
bottom of page