top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureCecilia Porter

GOOD MORNING, HEARTBREAK!

Updated: Apr 3, 2023


HEARTBREAK! Who hasn't had their heart broken? I remember my first heartbreak like it was yesterday. I was devastated, to say the least. I must have cried about it for over a year. In hindsight, God did me a tremendous favor when He forced him out of my life. Then God sent me the love of my life, my husband. We were married for over 43 blissful years, then my husband died of cancer. Oh what a heartbreak! Rev. Porter has been deceased now for several years and I am still wallowing in the Valley of Heartbreak.


Heartbreak! There is no set expiration date of recovery from a heartbreak. It is the worst feeling in the world, and ooh, so painful. It feels like your heart is literally breaking. Like your heart has been shattered into millions of tiny pieces. No one can describe the pain of how you feel. That pain is different for each individual. All you want is them, the one you lost. You now realize that you can't be with them any more and you can't move on without them. You can't sleep because of the pain and tears. It feels like the world is coming to an end, at least your world. You don't know what to do with yourself, there are times that it may seem like there is no point in living, because nothing can make you happy.


Heartbreak! Are you experiencing a heartbreak? What is causing your heartbreak? Maybe it is the experience of a romantic break-up, infidelity, an end of a friendship, rejection, separation, someone could not reciprocate your love, illness, loss of job, change in lifestyle, loss of independence, or death. The pain of living without someone makes you feel shattered and broken.


A romantic heartbreak brings about a lot of pain because you gave your love, and being in love is the best euphoric emotion in the world. You will never enter into a relationship as a thought of getting your heart broken. No one knows what the future holds. But anytime you become emotionally involved with someone, you become a risk taker and that means there is a 50/50 chance that your heart will be broken.


Heartbreak! It seems as though my heartbreak is never ending. Every morning Heartbreak greets me with many gloomy disguises, and I simply say, "Good morning, Heartbreak." My bedroom feels like it is filled with a fragrance of disbelief. My pillow appears to be stuffed with an overwhelming feeling of broken-heartedness. My mattress appears to envelop me with never-ending lethargy. My pajamas feels like it has been washed in anguish, rinsed in misery, and dried in sadness. When I look in the mirror, Heartbreak stares at me with those sorrowful eyes. My face is being washed with a cleansing cream of emptiness. It's like I am brushing my teeth with toothpaste made of lack of interest. Even my clothes are throwing vibes of shock and unhappiness. While drinking my coffee, indifferent, trauma, disconnect, and distress, joins me to keep me company. And all throughout the day, loneliness, depression, sadness, and agony follows me everywhere I go. The only time that I can escape from Heartbreak is when I finally go to sleep. When morning comes, Heartbreak greets me again, and my reply is always the same, "Good morning, Heartbreak."


I know that time heals all things. I know that it will take time for my shattered broken heart to heal. My son Jay, constantly reminds me, "Mama you loved daddy so much and so very hard, your shattered broken heart is the price you paid for that kind of love." He is so correct. The harder you love, the more painful the loss.


"The LORD is close to the brokenhearted and saves those who are crushed in spirit" (Psalm 34:18).



6 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

©2020 by Cecilia's Inspiration Corner. Proudly created with Wix.com

  • facebook
  • twitter
  • linkedin
bottom of page