top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureCecilia Porter

HE CALL ME BY NAME

Updated: May 3, 2020

The 23rd Psalm, is one of my favorite scriptures. It is probably one of the most memorized Psalm of them all. My son learned this scripture when he was four years old, while at day care. “The Lord is my shepherd, I shall not want” (Psalm 23:1). Just saying the first part of this Psalm, brings me so much comfort. When I am troubled, I simply recite this verse, over and over again, until I begin to feel better.

Image Jesus, the Good Shepard, caring for His sheep. The male sheep are called rams, the females are called ewes, and the babies are called lambs. Sheep are meek animals. They are usually very quiet and gentle, holding themselves aloof from the world.

In the herd, all of the sheep tend to listen to their leaders and show esteem to Him. Because of the obedient character, sheep are amongst the most popular animals beloved by mankind and in this case, beloved by Jesus.

Now picture this, a good shepherd caring for His helpless sheep. The sheep grazing quietly in the fields while the Good Shepard (Jesus) is walking among them and admiring each one, as He passes them. He walks with them. He talks to them. He assures them that all is well. He reminds them, that He loves them. They feel it and they believe Him, because He can’t lie. He calls them to follow Him and gently they do. One by one, He called them by name. Each sheep hears His voice, I love you Eulalia, I love you Josalyn, I love you Selena, I love you my child, and saying each of their names, as He reminds them that He loves them and cares for them. “To him the porter openth; and the sheep hear His voice; and He calleth his own sheep by name, and leadeth them out. And when he putteth forth his own sheep, he goeth before them, and the sheep follow him, for they know his voice. And strangers will they not follow, but will flee from him, for they know not the voice of strangers” (John 10:3-5).

How wonderful and awe-inspiring and what comfort to know that we are one of His sheep and He knows us by our name. We are not just a number, nor a symbol, nor an object, or some stranger on this life’s journey. We are children of the living King. He is our Shepherd, we have a personal relationship with Him, and while He is shepherding us, He calls unto us, by our names.


16 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

©2020 by Cecilia's Inspiration Corner. Proudly created with Wix.com

  • facebook
  • twitter
  • linkedin
bottom of page