top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureCecilia Porter

SOMEBODY'S WATCHING YOU!

Updated: Mar 18, 2023


There was a song recorded by the singer Rockwell, released by Motown, called "Somebody's Watching Me." The song was released in 1984, as the lead single from his debut album. The first three lines of the song goes like this:


I always feel like somebody's watchin' me

I always feel like somebody's watchin' me

And I have no privacy.


But are we truly being watched? Surveillance cameras are everywhere. There are cameras on homes and businesses that are watching us. Doorbell cameras are so widely used. Dash-cams are in vehicles, as back-up cameras. Body cameras are almost on every police officer in the country. Video cameras and automatic license plate readers are on top of many utility poles, street lights, city buses, mounted on school buses and let's not forget that they are on many law enforcement vehicles.


Just the other day, our local news reported on an incident that involved a death due to a hit and run accident. The suspect's vehicle was identified by obtaining surveillance footage from security cameras. Databases can correlate location data from smartphones, private surveillance cameras, license plate readers, and facial recognition software, so if law enforcement wants to track you down and know where you have been, they can.


Even when you are at home in your own privacy of your own backyard, you are being watched and recorded by multiple devices from many sources. Even on the inside of your home you don't have any privacy, especially if you have purchased some form of smart device for your enjoyment, such as a smart T.V. or Amazon Echo or Alexia, or some other smart device with speakers. My Alexia is always listening, not just for my voice commands, but every little sound that is being made in my house, including me typing this.


This is very scary knowing that something or somebody is always watching and listening to you. What a violation of privacy! But what we should be afraid of, not that man is watching us or listening to us, but that God is watching us, the All-Seeing One. For Scripture tells us that, "The eyes of the Lord are in every place, keeping watch on the evil and the good" (Proverbs 15:3). "And no creature is hidden from his sight, but all are naked and exposed to the eyes of him to whom we must give account" (Hebrews 4:13).


God is omnipotent, which means that He is all-powerful. He is omniscient, which means that He is all-knowing. He is omnipresent, which means that He is present everywhere at all times. God sees, hears, and knows everything. There is absolutely nothing that is hidden from God. God is not deaf nor blind. He cannot be bribed, manipulated, nor fooled. He knows us inside and out. "For my eyes are on all their ways. They are not hidden from me, nor is their iniquity concealed from my eyes" (Jeremiah 16:17).


God never sleeps nor slumbers. Can you imagined that! God's eyes are eternally always opened. God doesn’t miss anything. Guess what? God keeps records on us. Ooh, yes He does! Scriptures says, "And I saw the dead, small and great, stand before God; and the books were opened: and another book was opened, which is the book of life: and the dead were judged out of those things which were written in the books, according to their works" (Revelations 20:12). God keeps records of every time we are obedient and disobedient.


God knows our every thought, every mistake, every seed we have ever sown, and every action. He knows our strengths and weaknesses. He knows every word that will come out of our mouths before the thought is even formed in our brains. He knows about the temptations we are exposed to, our living concerns, and what troubles us. He knows what you are fighting against and who is fighting against you. He knows our prayers before we pray. He knows what time we will wake up and the time we will fall asleep. He knows all of our business. We cannot hide anything from God. There is nothing that can stop the "all-seeing" vision of God.


God sees everything and He knows all things. God sees every act of kindness and every injustice. God has no blindspots, His view is never obstructed. God never blinks, His eyes are never half-shut nor do they close and open. God doesn't have any blinders, nothing prevents Him from understanding the full situation. God doesn't have any barriers, nothing can stop Him from going anywhere and He sees through it all.


In Psalm 139 David reveals to us how big, how awesome, how powerful, and how wise God is. God's omniscience is put on display:


"O Lord, you have examined my heart and know everything about me. You know when I sit or stand. When afar you know my every thought. You chart the path ahead of me, and tell me where to stop and rest. Every moment, you know where I am. You know what I am going to say before I even say it. You both precede and follow me, and place your hand of blessing on my head.


This is too glorious, too wonderful to believe! I can never be lost to your Spirit! I can never get away from my God! If I go up to heaven, you are there; if I go down to the place of the dead, you are there. If I ride the morning winds to the farthest oceans, even there your hand will guide me, your strength will support me. If I try to hide in the darkness, the night becomes light around me. For even darkness cannot hide from God; to you the night shines as bright as day. Darkness and light are both alike to you.


You made all the delicate, inner parts of my body, and knit them together in my mother's womb. Thank you for making me so wonderfully complex! It is amazing to think about. Your workmanship is marvelous - and how well I know it. You were there while I was being formed in utter seclusion! You saw me before I was born and scheduled each day of my life before I began to breathe. Every day was recorded in your Book" (Psalm 139:1-16).


God doesn't have any eye ailments: thyroid eye disease, age-related macular degeneration, astigmatism, cataracts, glaucoma, diabetic retinopathy, blurred vision, double vision, amblyopia, color blindness, nor floaters. No, none of those. He has x-ray microscopic 20/20 vision. God sees everything and in every detail. He sees every event in the world and every detail of our lives, until the end. He can see ALL things, and He does!

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

©2020 by Cecilia's Inspiration Corner. Proudly created with Wix.com

  • facebook
  • twitter
  • linkedin
bottom of page