top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureCecilia Porter

THE LORD IS MY SHEPHERD

Updated: Apr 3, 2023


The Lord is my shepherd! Who is my shepherd? The LORD is my shepherd! The Lord is my Shepherd, and that excludes any other person or thing in this whole universe. The Lord IS my shepherd! The word "IS" speaks to a present relationship. The Lord is my Shepherd is implying that right now, I am under the Shepherd's care, who is Jesus Christ, my Lord and Savior. The Lord is MY Shepherd! The possessive word "MY" identifies as something which relates to those whose Shepherd truly is the Lord.


The Lord is MY Shepherd! Psalm 23 presents to us some mighty powerful promises from the Lord. Life is truly a journey with so many hills and valleys. Psalm 23 gives a tremendous promise of comfort, that on this life's journey, God will always be with us. God deeply cares about us and He will actively seek us, even if we get separated from the flock. Scripture reminds us, "What man of you, having a hundred sheep, if he has lost one of them, does not leave the ninety-nine in the open country, and go after the one that is lost, until he finds it? And when he has found it, he lays it on his shoulders, rejoicing" (Luke 15:3-5).


The Lord is My Shepherd! He continually restores our wounded and troubled soul. He gives us strength and energizes us daily as we stay on the battlefield. He is greatly concern for those who are perishing, and Scripture reminds us, "He is patient with you, not wanting anyone to perish, but everyone to come to repentance." He desires to seek those who have been scattered because of the attacks from our enemy, Satan. We know from 2 Corinthians 1:20, "For no matter how many promises God has made, they are 'Yes' in Christ. And so through him the 'Amen' is spoken by us to the glory of God."


John 10 clearly reminds us that Jesus is the Good Shepherd. As the Good Shepherd, Jesus knows each and every sheep in His flock by name. He knows His sheep personally. His sheep knows His voice and listens when their name is called. They listen when He speaks. They listen for directions. They listen for instructions. They listen for comfort. They listen out of obedience. They listen because they know that He cares. They listen because He is the Good Shepherd. They listen because they know that Jesus loves them totally and completely unconditionally.


Jesus wants us to recognize Him both as our Shepherd and personally, as MY Shepherd. Jesus boldly says, "I am the Good Shepherd. The Good Shepherd lays down his life for the sheep" (John 10:11). Jesus said this twice in a very short sentence, that He laid down His life for all mankind. Jesus loves us so much that He wants us to know that His death was NOT a victory for His enemy. His death was a living sacrifice for us. He give up His life completely and voluntarily. It was done out of love. He finished His work on the cross and His resurrection was for our justification to salvation. Thankfully, whenever we sin, we have Jesus' blood to justify us. When we fall, we have His atoning sacrifice.


The Lord IS my Shepherd! Not was, or will be, or maybe, or fixin' to be, or going to be, or sometimes, or thinking about it. No! He IS my Shepherd right now, today, tomorrow, always and forevermore.


The Lord IS my Shepherd! Not maybe on Monday or Tuesday or Wednesday or only on some weekdays, or only on the weekends, or only on my birthday, or only on a holiday. No! He is my Shepherd everyday of the week, including birthdays and holidays.


The Lord IS my Shepherd! Not maybe in January, skip February, then again in March, then every other month after that. No! He is MY shepherd every month of the year, all year long.


The Lord IS my Shepherd! Not maybe just at home, or sometimes on the job, or at some select locations, or every other vacation, or maybe walking in the park, or sometimes in the car. No! He is my Shepherd everywhere I go and wherever I am.


The Lord IS my Shepherd! The Lord is my Shepherd, in illness, in health, during trouble times, in good times, in trials, in tribulations, in peace, in war, in disappointments, in silent times, in testing times, in uncertain times. He is my Shepherd at all times.


When the Lord is your Shepherd, you shall not want. John 6:35 says, "For I am the bread of life. He who comes to me will never go hungry, and he who believes in me will never be thirsty." Colossians 3:10 tells us, "And you have been given fullness in Christ, who is the head over every power and authority." Thus, you are complete in Him. When the Lord is your Shepherd, you shall never lack for anything, for we can be satisfied in Him, never lacking any good thing. It does not mean that you will have much material gain, but rather spiritually, you will lack nothing.


The Lord is my Shepherd! I do not lack. I cannot lack. I shall never lack, with Jesus as MY Shepherd. God will provide for me. God Himself is my Provision. God Himself is my Provider. God Himself is my Sustainer. All of my needs and all that I have, is because "The Lord is my Shepherd, I shall not want."


The Lord is my Shepherd! He is the One who tends and cares for all the basic needs of His sheep. He is the One who takes responsibility for the growth and welfare of His sheep. He is the One who protects, guides, and feeds His sheep.


The Lord IS my Shepherd! Who is your shepherd?

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

©2020 by Cecilia's Inspiration Corner. Proudly created with Wix.com

  • facebook
  • twitter
  • linkedin
bottom of page