top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureCecilia Porter

THE SECURITY BLANKET




When I was a child, at bedtime I would kneel beside the bed and say my prayers. “Now I lay me down to sleep. I pray the Lord my soul to keep. If I should die before I awake, I pray the Lord my soul to take.” That was my nightly prayer. To this day, I sometimes will recite that children’s prayer. That prayer, as a child, was a form of security, that God would take care of me during the night and there would be no need to fear.


A security blanket is something that provides someone, with a feeling of safety and comfort, whey they are in a situation that worries them or makes them feel nervous.


Children have the need to feel secure. They will usually have a Blankie, Teddy, or Paci. These are their magical silencers when they are frantic and need to be consoled. When kids begin to grow older, we will start weaning them off of their security items. The first one is usually the Paci (pacifier).


While we were growing up, and when we felt threatened, or afraid, our parents were our security blanket.


As adults, we have a different type of security blanket. No, it’s not an object that we can touch physically or see visually. As children of God, Jesus is our “security blanket.”


We live in a cruel and careless world today. A world where it appears that anything goes. A world full of uncertainties, in which our sense of security is threatened daily. Our political security measures are diminishing. Where moral support and psychological support is detaching. Where you feel hopeless, vulnerable, and detachments, because of the inability to sustain consistency in our relationships, churches, government, and economy. Which is affecting our support system, which is subjecting us to instability that is rocking our faith, because we are having difficulties in maintaining, upholding, and sustaining our space that was once our “happy place” which we consider our “security blanket.”


So where do you go to feel secure? You go to Jesus! Jesus is our “security blanket”. Isaiah 4:13 says, “For I am the Lord, your God, who takes hold of your right hand and says to you, ‘Do not fear; I will help you.” God is where true peace is found, because everything else only provides us with a temporary solution with a temporary fix. Jesus is our “security blanket” that provides us with security coverage.


No, he isn’t a teddy bear, blankie, Mr. Snuggles, a stuffed animal, a doll, or our favorite toy. He provides us with comfort through “The Comforter”. He is our safety net that pledges us security. Jesus is our security guarantee, our safety assurance, and our security safeguard that provides us with a set of security measures. He is our security sanction for psychological comfort and emotional support. He is the “stress” and “anxiety” reducer. Through Him, reassurance is provided while He provides our support and gives us a sense of security and dependability. Jesus is all that we need when faced with chaos and trials. Jesus is “the security blanket.”




“Find rest, O my shoulder in God alone; my hope comes from him. He alone is my rock and my salvation; he is my fortress, I will not be shaken. My salvation and my honor depend on God; he is my mighty rock, my refuge. Trust in him at all times, O people; pour out your hearts to him, for God is our refuge.” Psalm 62:5-8


12 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

1 commentaire


vemith
05 août 2020

Amen, I’ve learned to rest in Jesus while I wait on God’s will.

J'aime
bottom of page