top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureCecilia Porter

WILLING AND ABLE

Updated: May 3, 2020

I have just made a mental, “things to do” list. I did it mentally, because, to put pen to paper, will greatly overwhelm me. Just sitting here thinking about the necessary things that I need to do today, has caused me some serious anxiety. In addition to my regular schedule, I have some projects that are overdue. I have been trying to give myself a pep talk, to receive some motivation, so that I can get a handle on this list. My mind is willing, but my body isn’t. It appears, that Willing and Able is fighting with each other. It’s looks like they are competing in a W.W.E. wrestling match. Just when Able thinks that Willing is being pinned down, Willing jumps back up and pins Able down. Dawn, Willing has just defeated Able. I am still willing, but I am just not able. Now, I find myself still sitting here contemplating, how am I going to handle my day.

We all have those days when we are so exhausted, mentally or physically, and sometimes, both. We can barely put one foot in front of the other. Sometimes, the thought of just getting out of the bed becomes a chore. Sometimes, before getting out of the bed, someone may call you, stressing over some things that are so trivial and ridiculous, and you are trying to find the calming words to help them in their crisis, when you are in crisis yourself.

In addition to your everyday itinerary, you have several additional things that have been added to your list and now it appears that it will be humanly impossible to accomplish them today or maybe this week. You are willing to do them, but your body is struggling. Sometimes, we feel that we just can’t keep up.

In 2 Corinthians 12, Paul tells us about a vision he had, and that it was a revelation from God. Paul explains that, his experience was worth bragging about, but he wasn’t going to. He was going to boast only about how weak he was and how great God is and to use this weakness for God’s glory. He goes on to say that these experiences that he had were so tremendous, that God was afraid that he might become puffed-up by them, so God gave him a physical condition which was a thorn in his flesh. Paul had begged God three different times to remove the thorn and God said, “My grace is sufficient for thee: for my strength is made perfect in weakness.”

During the course of the day, God is not expecting us to be Super Heroes. He is not expecting for us to conquer the world. He gives us just one day at a time. He knows our hearts and our intentions. He knows what we are willing to do, whether or not we are able to do it, is another thing, When we are weak, God is strong. When we are down, He lifts us up. When we are incapable, He enables us. When we are poorly, He lifts our spirits. When we fall down, He picks us up.

When we allow ourselves to be weak in our “feeling sorry for ourselves” moments, that’s when God takes over, and that gives God the opportunity to show us His strength. God will take every opportunity, every time, to show us His strength. We don’t have to be “willing and able”. We can just be willing, because God is able. Sometimes, we are willing, but not able.

God is always Willing and Able.


11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

©2020 by Cecilia's Inspiration Corner. Proudly created with Wix.com

  • facebook
  • twitter
  • linkedin
bottom of page