top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureCecilia Porter

LUCKY OR BLESSED?


What is the difference between the two words, lucky and blessed? The American Heritage Dictionary defines the word "luck" as follows: 1) The chance happening of fortunate or adverse events. 2) Good fortune or prosperity; success...to gain success or something desirable by chance: "I lucked out in finding that rare book."


Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary defines the word blessing as "the act or words of one that blesses," or "a thing conducive to happiness or welfare."


Let me simplify the two definitions for you. Being lucky is the idea that by chance, something in the universe made a situation go in your favor. Being blessed is attributing a given situation to the goodness of God.


I keep my mindset on being blessed, because I believe nothing happens by random chance. As a child of God, I believe that there is no such thing as luck. Saying it was luck denies that God is in control and denies the many blessings that God has bestowed on you. We must credit God for everything good that happens to us. God cares about us and He wants to be involved in every aspect of our lives.


So does faith and luck have anything to do with each other? Absolutely not! Luck has nothing to do with God. God is not the Giver of luck, but the Giver of blessings.


When Jesus delivered His sermon on the Mount, in Luke chapter 6, He turned to the crowd and said, "Blessed," not "Lucky."


Blessed are you poor in spirit, for theirs is the kingdom of heaven.

Blessed are those who mourn, for they will be comforted.

Blessed are the meek, for they will inherit the earth.

Blessed are those who hunger and thirst for righteousness, for they

will be filled.

Blessed are the merciful, for they will be shown mercy.

Blessed are the pure in heart, for they will see God.

Blessed are the peacemakers, for they will be called children of God.

Blessed are those who are persecuted because of righteousness for

theirs is the kingdom of heaven.


Some blessings don't come in the form we may think they will or should. Some of them are in the form of a disguise. I believe that God can and will take something that was meant for evil and turn it into something good.


I am very blessed and I am blessed by God. I am so very thankful for all that God as done for me, is doing for me, and what He will do for me. I have an attitude of gratitude. I am blessed, not lucky!

73 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page