top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureCecilia Porter

MY LIFE IS AN ORCHESTRA!


Hello Heavenly Father,


I want to thank you for allowing me to be your orchestra. My life, as it is, is being played out, has been, and will continue to be an instrumental ensemble that contains sections of string, brass, woodwind, and percussion instruments.


Some events in my life have been small, like a chamber orchestra, and there have been some monumental events in my life, like a symphony orchestra.


My life at times, may be related to the sounds of the woodwinds, brass, percussion and strings. Then other instruments maybe added like a piano or a harp.


I have countless people moving in and out of my life, with numerous unfolding events. With each unfolding event, presenting a different musical tune. Each of these instruments plays its own part in my life. From the classiness of the strings, to the booms and crashes of the percussion, then the buzzing sound of the brass, and the chirp of woodwinds. Each instrument has its own tone, plays its own part, and each one make a significant contribution.


Each instrument's role in my life will vary depending on my needs, for a particular event in my life. Sometimes my life may need the full concert orchestra to play at full volume. Sometimes I just may need a single solitary instrument just to play softly and peacefully.


People will make their entrance and exit in my life. Their entrance is just as important as their exit. Each person will play a unique part, some longer and some shorter in this symphony, that is called my life.


My life is complicated and guidance is always needed. This guidance comes from the Conductor and the sheet music. The sheet music tells each musician when to play notes, what notes to play and how they should sound. The Conductor unify the performers, set the tempo, execute clear preparations and best, listen critically and shape the sound of the ensemble, and control the interpretation and pace of the music. The Conductor guides the entire orchestra.


As I go through life, do I know and understand the music that is being played? Absolutely not! The musicians will have the sheet music in front of them on a music stand when performing. The Conductor is responsible for the overall musical interpretations of the piece. What tempo to take, what character the music should have, which musical lines need to be emphasized and which can fade into the background.


God has given each of us a unique gift and temperament. He has given us talents, skills, and spiritual gifts. He has wired us to be exactly what we need to be, to do exactly what He wants us to do.


So the cymbals are meant to crash through the orchestra and to highlight the big exciting moments.


The flutes cheerfully atop the rest of the orchestra as they create beautiful sustained melodies. They blend perfectly with the other instruments and provide the background color. They are among the most magical moments.


The brass provides a touch of regal. They can play louder than any other instrument. They can play loud, aggressive and powerful parts. It is important to know that the brass is also capable of very soft dynamics too.


The percussions keeps the rhythm. They make special sounds and add excitement and color.


The strings serve as the orchestra's soul. They are the foundation of the orchestra. They provide the melody of the music. They also offer the largest range of intensity and nuance.


I now understand that the Holy Spirit's job is to help me know my written score (God's Word), to follow the Conductor's lead (God) and trust His plan for me, even when I don't understand it. God is the only One who can see the completed score. He knows the score very intimately and completely, because He is the One that wrote it and He knows exactly how He wants it to be performed.


I must trust the Conductor (God) to produce the music in the orchestra, in my life the way it's meant to be played. Only God knows the best way to create beautiful music. It is He who orchestrates the music in the orchestra.


God will orchestrate the people in the situations and scenarios. The result is a sound that is perfectly written for me. Only God can provide the perfect timing to bring people in my life, at the right time for the right purpose. There will be emotional journeys and some difficult times. My process of life will result in what size my orchestra will be for my specially written symphony.


Only God, our Master Conductor knows what the sound will sound like.


Loving you always,

Your grateful child.

8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentarios


bottom of page